Westmincom chief Dela Vega, 12 others cast votes under absentee voting system

0 199

Western Mindanao Command (Westmincom) chief Lt. Gen. Arnel Dela Vega and 12 other personnel have participated in the absentee voting.

The soldiers cast their votes at Westmincom’s command conference room Tuesday, April 30.

Other officials who also exercised their right to suffrage were Brig. Gen. Cirilo Thomas Donato, deputy commander for administration; Brig. Gen. Generoso Ponio, deputy commander for operations; and Col. Leonardo Peña, chief of unified command staff.

Republic Act No. 7166 and Executive Order No. 157 provide for the absentee voting, a system of voting whereby any person who by reason of public functions and duties such as those in the Armed Forces of the Philippines and Philippine National Police, is not in his/her place of registration on election day, may vote in the city/municipality where he/she is assigned provided that he/she is a duly registered voter.

Absentee voters can only vote for candidates running for the Senate and party-list.

“We are glad for one, we are able to cast our votes, we are able to exercise our right to suffrage and that is the only part of the election period when we are able to practice partisanship,” Dela Vega said.

“More than the casting of votes, our main objective is to ensure that the coming elections in May 13 would be peaceful, orderly and credible one,” he added.