Wala pang BTA members! OPAPP says list of nominees still with Duterte’s office for review

0 240

The Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process (OPAPP) denied Sunday that there was already a list of members of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) that will lead the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

OPAPP issued the statement after a supposed list of BTA members circulated online.

“(T)here is as of yet no final and official list of appointees for the Bangsamoro Transition Authority. Hence, the list being circulated on various social media platforms is fake,” OPAPP said in a statement.

The agency said it has already transmitted the list of nominees to the Office of the President for review.

“The final and official names of appointees will only come from the President,” it said.

It urged the public to be prudent and judicious about what they see and share on social media.

A supposed list of 41 nominees to BTA circulated on social media. Included in the list were Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) chairman Al Haj Murad Ebrahim and other MILF officials, such as Mohagher Iqbal and Abdullah Macaapar, alias Commander Bravo.

The BTA, however, is expected to be MILF-led.

It will lead the BARMM until a regular election of its officials takes place by 2022.