Team Pacquiao knocks out poll rivals in Sarangani

0 360

Politikos who ran under the banner of incoming senator Manny Pacquiao won big in Sarangani province.

Heading the list of winners from the People’s Champ Movement (PCM) is the retired boxing superstar’s brother, Rogelio Pacquiao, who will succeed the eight-division champ as Sarangani lone district representative.

Rogelio was proclaimed winner Sunday (May 15) by the Provincial Board of Canvassers (PBOC) with 142,307 votes, a PNA report said. His closest rival, independent bet Elson Formoso, only received 13,938 votes.

The elder Pacquiao served two terms are Sarangani congressman before aiming for the higher position.

Also winning via landslide in the polls was incumbent Governor Steve Chiongbian Solon.

Solon amassed 139,446 votes while the second-placed Mohamad Aquia of the Liberal Party (LP) only received the nod of 27,554 voters.

Meanwhile, Solon’s running mate, outgoing board member Elmer de Peralta beat his opponent Willie Dangane of LP after they received 108,126 votes and 36,641 votes, respectively.

Proclaimed as provincial board members were George Falgui, Cornelio Martiez Jr., Jess Bascuna, Rosemarie Sayo in the first district and Cyril John Yap, Hermie Galzote, Virgilio Tobias, Arman Guilli, Cesar Nallos and Abdulracman Pangolima in the second district.

All winning board members were PCM stalwarts.