Metropolitan Davao to be formed – Mayor Sara

0 547

President Rodrigo Duterte is set to issue a proclamation creating a Metrpolitan Davao, Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio said.

Metropolitan Davao comprises Davao City, the five component cities, and municipalities in Davao Region and will be administered by the Metropolitan Davao Development Authority (MDDA).

“The MDDA will be composed of representatives from Digos, Sta. Cruz, Davao City, Panabo, Carmen and Tagum. If this will be pushed through the six identified areas will now move as one,” Duterte-Carpio said.

She added that it would be easier to manage the disaster, garbage, and traffic concerns.

Duterte-Carpio said the purpose of the grouping is to ensure that all efforts are geared toward the same direction.

“One aspect of this is the security, so we will present this to the Regional Peace and Order Council (RPOC) because the security needs to be extended to Digos and Tagum,” she added.

National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) 11 Regional Director Maria Lourdes Lim said the creation of the Metropolitan Davao is embodied in the Philippine Development Plan and the Davao Development Plan.

Currently, there are only two established metro groupings – Metro Manila and Metro Cebu.

Lim said the creation of the MDDA will lead to a higher level of service in the component areas.