Mayor Sara OKs additional P4.2M cash aid for Davao del Sur, North Cotabato quake-hit areas

0 126

Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio has approved the release of P4.2 million from the city’s Quick Response Fund (QRF) to be given as additional cash assistance to quake-hit areas in Davao del Sur and North Cotabato.

City Disaster Risk Reduction Management Office (CDRMMO) head Alfredo Baloran said the amount will be provided to the towns affected by the October 31 magnitude 6.5 earthquake.

Of the additional P4.2 million cash aid, he said P1 million is allocated each for the provinces of Davao del Sur and Cotabato; P500,000 each for Kidapawan in North Cotabato and Digos in Davao del Sur; and P300,000 each for the towns of Mlang, Magpet, Matalam in North Cotabato; and, Hagonoy in Davao del Sur.

“As soon as we can get the check, I will personally deliver it immediately,” Baloran said.

Davao City earlier gave P1.5 million to five towns affected by the October 16 earthquake — Bansalan, Magsaysay and Matanao in Davao del Sur and and Tulunan and Makilala in North Cotabato.

Aside from the cash assistance, the city also extended relief goods to the affected areas as well as personnel augmentation and equipment during the search and rescue operation of the Office of the Civil Defense in North Cotabato.