Mayor Sara beefs up Davao City housing board TWG


Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio has issued an executive order reconstituting the technical working group (TWG) of the Local Housing Board (LHB) to formulate the city’s local shelter plan.

EO No. 15 or “An Order Reconstituting the Technical Working Group of the Local Housing Board for the Formulation of the Local Shelter Plan of Davao City” was released on March 23.

The LHB TWG shall be composed of the Office of the City Planning and Development Coordinator, City Engineer’s Office, City Assessor’s Office, City Social Welfare and Development Office, City Budget Office, City Legal Office, City Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office, and Committee on Housing, Rural and Urban Development, while representatives from the Department of Human Settlements and Urban Development, Presidential Commission for the Urban Poor, Department of Interior and Local Government, National Housing Authority, and the National Commission on Indigenous Peoples may be invited or consulted to provide inputs to the Local Shelter Plan (LSP).

EO 15 directed TWG members to name two respective alternate permanent representatives who shall take their place in case of their absence.

Among the functions of the TWG include gathering available data and processing information relevant to the preparation of the LSP and ensuring policy coordination and uniformity in operational directions for shelter planning.

It is also tasked to ensure that LSP is in line with the national and local policies and standards; establish or maintain linkages and seek substantial inputs from government agencies, civil society organizations, and private sector in all stages of the local shelter planning and development; initiate community validation and consultation; and formulate the LSP for the approval of the LHB.

Available funds of the City Government of Davao will shoulder the operational costs of the TWG, subject to the usual accounting and auditing rules and regulations.

The TWG will also function as a special unit, which exists only for the duration of the LSP as determined by the City Mayor.