Mayor Guiani-Sayadi beats Bai Sema in Cotabato City

0 226

The Commission on Elections has proclaimed incumbent Mayor Frances Cynthia Guiani-Sayadi as the winner in this year’s mayoral race.

Guiani-Sayadi garnered 34,753 votes to win over rival Bai Sandra Sema, who got 21,655 votes, to clinch the city’s mayoral post. Guiani-Sayadi was then vice mayor of this city when she took over the mayoralty position from her late brother, Mayor Japal Guiani Jr., who died from a lingering illness in 2016.

“Let there be peace now in Cotabato City,” she told reporters here
shortly after her proclamation at 8:30 p.m. Tuesday inside Shariff
Kabunsuan Complex, the seat of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in
Muslim Mindanao in this city.

In the vice mayoral race, Graham Nazer Dumama, a nephew of Guiani-Sayadi, was also proclaimed winner with 33, 439 votes as against opponents Abdullah Andang (20, 0490) and James Uytaranco (100).

Also proclaimed winner was Japal Guiani III who got the highest number of votes at 28,177 as city councilor.

Other top city councilor contenders who have yet to be proclaimed are Bruce Matabalao, Dr. Ed Rabago, Johari Abu, Michael Datumanong, Abdillah Lim, Florante Formento, Hassan Biruar, Freddie Ridao, and Christina Chua. (PNA)