Magbibigay daan! 2 Mindanao governors promise to resign if BBL passes

0 177

Two Mindanao governors have pledged to resign from their posts to give way for a new Bangsamoro government once the proposed Bangsamoro Basic Law (BBL) passes.

Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) Gov. Mujiv Hataman and Maguindanao Gov. Esmael Mangudadatu said they will step down from their posts once the BBL is enacted.

“Kahit bukas magbibitaw ako para sa BBL kung dapat,” Hataman said Thursday (January 25) at a meeting with senators and Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) chair Al Haj Ebrahim Murad at Camp Darapanan in Cotabato City.

Hataman added he stands to be the “first casualty” of the BBL, which seeks to to abolish the ARMM in favor of a parliamentary form of government for the Bangsamoro region.

“Pero hindi ko uunahin ang interes ko, mauna lang ang interes ng nakararami,” Hataman said.
This was echoed by Mangudadatu during the consultative hearing on the BBL at Shariff Kabunsuan Complex in Cotabato City.

Hataman has been in office since 2011, while Mangudadatu has been in his position since 2010.

The BBL is projected to be passed by a unanimous Senate before Congress adjourns in March, Senator Migz Zubiri said.