Lobregat fails to unseat 3rd termer Climaco in Zamboanga City mayoralty race


Incumbent Zamboanga City 1st District Representative Celso Lobregat has failed to unseat Mayor Beng Climaco, who ran for her third and last term as the city’s local chief executive.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) City Board of Canvassers proclaimed Climaco late Thursday afternoon, May 16, as the winner in the mayoralty race.

Climaco received 146,079 votes as against Lobregat’s 112,343 votes during the May 13 polls.

She thanked God and her supporters for her victory.

Climaco underscored the need to move on and to start delivering services and programs she promised to the people during the campaign period.

Also proclaimed was Vice Mayor-elect Councilor Rommel Agan.

Cesar “Jawo” Jimenez, congressman-elect for District I and Rep. Manuel “Mannix’ Dalipe, re-elected for the second term, were proclaimed Wednesday.