Gov Dayanghirang declares July 1 holiday in Davao Oriental


Davao Oriental Governor Nelson L. Dayanghirang has declared Thursday, July 1, as a special non-working public holiday in the province.

This is to celebrate the 54th Araw ng Davao Oriental.

“It is but fitting and proper that the people of the Province of Davao Oriental be given full opportunity to celebrate our founding day within the MGCQ (modified general community quarantine) guidelines,” Dayanghirang said in Executive Order No. 15.

Late President Ferdinand Marcos signed into law in 1967 Republic Act No. 4867 creating the Province of Davao Oriental, along with the Provinces of Davao del Norte and Davao del Sur.