Bangsamoro gov’t appoints 6 officials to intergovernmental fiscal body


The Bangsamoro government has named six of its key executive and legislative officials as members of a fiscal policy body tasked to address revenue imbalances and fluctuations in the financial needs and revenue-raising capacity of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

The Intergovernmental Fiscal Policy Board (IFPB) will also have members from the national government led by Finance Secretary Carlos Dominquez.

Dominguez and BARMM Chief Minister Ahod “Al Haj Murad” Ebrahim are co-chairs of the body.

According to the Department of Finance (DOF), BARMM has also appointed to the IFPB Minister Abu Amri Taddik, Minister Naguib Sinarimbo, Deputy Speaker Hatamil Hassan, Engr. Mohajirin Ali, and Said Salendab.

For the national government, the other IFPB members are Budget and Management Secretary Wendel Avisado, Trade Secretary Ramon Lopez and Secretary Ernesto Pernia of the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA).

Finance Undersecretary Bayani Agabin, who heads the Legal Group, said the first organizational meeting of the IFPB is scheduled in the third week of March.

IFPB is mandated to coordinate and resolve issues on intergovernmental relations between the national government and the BARMM through regular consultations and continuing negotiations in a non-adversarial manner.