After 11 years, makakatanggap din! BARMM to release IRA of 11 LGUs


Eleven municipalities in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) would finally receive their Internal Revenue Allotment (IRA), a regional official said.

Assistant Executive Secretary from the Office of the Chief Minister Abdullah Cusain said Datu Salibo, Datu Hoffer, Mangudadatu, Pandag, Northern Kabuntalan, Datu Blah Sinsuat, Datu Anggal Midtimbang, all in Maguindanao; and Akbar, Al-Barka, Hadji Muhtamad, and Mohammad Ajul, all in Basilan, would get their share after 11 years.

It could be recalled that the 11 local government units (LGUs) have failed to meet the requirements needed in order to receive their IRA from the now-defunct Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

“Regarding doon sa LGUs na walang IRA, under the BOL (Bangsamoro Organic Law), na-waive ‘yong qualifications na hindi nila ma-satisfy kaya nga hindi sila magkaroon ng IRA before,” Cusain said.

He said the IRA of each LGU would be based on their respective population, land area, and income, among others.

Section 10, Article VI of the BOL states, “the municipalities or barangays created, divided, merged, or whose boundaries are substantially altered, shall be entitled to their appropriate share in the national taxes or Internal Revenue Allotment: Provided that it shall be approved by a majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite in the political units directly affected.”