6 Reds yield to military in Agusan del Sur as CPP marks anniversary


Six alleged members of the communist New People’s Army (NPA) have yielded to the government troops Saturday, December 26, in Agusan del Sur, coinciding the 52 Founding Anniversary of the Communist Party of the Philippines (CPP).

According to Eastern Mindanao Command (Eastmincom), the surrenderees were identified as Alyas Eking from Brgy. Balit; Alyas Nel and Alyas Juan from Brgy Binicalan, all of San Luis, Agusan del Sur; Alyas Paying from Brgy. Lydia, Alyas Ebo and Alyas Nadel from Brgy Angeles, all of La Paz town.

“They are all Militia ng Bayan (MB) members of the Guerilla Front 88 of the North Central Mindanao Regional Committee (NCMRC) operating in San Luis and some parts of Talacogon and La Paz, ADS,” said Eastmincom.

The six surrenderees also peacefully laid down six firearms composed of one M16 rifle, one carbine rifle, two caliber 38 revolver, two caliber 45 pistol, one KG9, four magazines, assorted live ammunition and NPA flag.

As part of the Barangay Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (BTF-ELCAC), Elisa P. Gaud, chairwoman of Brgy. Balit in San Luis, accompanied the surrenderees in going to 26th Infantry Battalion headquarters as a way of showing her efforts in ending insurgency and peace-building initiatives at the barangay level.