ARMM hires 192 more teachers in Sulu

0 99

At least 192 new teachers will be teaching students in public elementary and high schools in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao this year.

The teachers are to be deployed to various schools in the region, according to ARMM Governor Mujiv Hataman who signed their appointment papers and deployment orders.

“Definitely hindi ko kayo kilala. Na-appoint kayo dahil competent kayo, hindi dahil may kumausap sa akin at may ‘malakas’ sa akin,” Hataman told the new teachers (https://armm.gov.ph/armm-hires-additional-192-teachers-sulu/).

Sulu schools division superintendent Dr. Tim Undain-Sanchez assisted Hataman in the procedure. There are more than 500 public elementary and secondary schools in Sulu alone.

ARMM said the teachers passed a screening process that included:
– validation of their credentials
– comprehensive examination
– teaching demonstration
– panel interview that guarantees only good quality teachers will be hired

Hataman added the applicants were assessed on equal footing to eliminate nepotism and “palakasan” that plagued DepEd-ARMM’s hiring of new teachers in previous years.

The governor challenged the new teachers to help improve the status of basic education in the region by giving their full commitment to teaching and ensuring the holistic development of students.

“Kung hindi nag-improve ‘yung quality ng education sa schools kung saan kayo na-deploy, ibig sabihin mali na na-appoint kayo,” Hataman said.

Meanwhile, a special body from the regional government was created to monitor the teachers’ timely reporting to their schools and their compliance with the terms of their deployment.

ARMM has nine divisions that include:
– Maguindanao I and II
– Marawi City
– Lanao del Sur I and II
– Lamitan City, Basilan
– Sulu
– Tawi-Tawi